• Study led by Dr Jemma Kerns and Professor Allen Goodship (UCL Orthopaedics & Musculoskeletal Science) used Raman spectroscopy to analyse the chemical composition of bones from sailors, in Mary Rose’s crew was riddled with rickets (Daily Mail) – 16 December 2014


  • Sandro Olivo (Med Phys) has won a £290k EPSRC grant for research on “Three-dimensional quantitative x-ray phase imaging” – 21 June 2013
  • Paul Beard, Ben Cox, Adrien Desjardins, Simeon West (Med Phys), Rehan Haidry, Laurence Lovat (Surgery), and Malcolm Finlay (Inst. Cardiovascular Science) have won a £629k EPSRC grant on “Endoscopic photoacustic devices for minimally invasive biomedical sensing and imaging” – 21 June 2013
  • Professor Peng Tee Khaw, UCL Institute of Ophthalmology, receives a knighthood “for services to ophthalmology” as one of the foremost ophthalmologist researchers in the field of glaucoma and ocula healing. He has taken his laboratory research through to clinical trials, resulting in improved glaucoma surgery outcomes and developed the Moorfields safer surgery system, which has been adopted around the world – 18 June 2013
  • Nader Saffari (Mechanical Eng) is recipient of an EPSRC responsive mode grant in “Sound bullets for enhanced biomedical ultrasound systems”, joint with Warwick and Leeds; the UCL component is £288k
  • Rachel McKendry (LCN) is PI on the recently awarded £11.1M EPSRC Interdisciplinary Research Collaboration (IRC) in “Early-Warning Sensing Systems for Infectious Diseases” joint between UCL, Newcastle, Surrey, Imperial and LSHTM. UCL CoIs are R Weiss (Immunology), Anne Johnson and D Pillay (Infection & Population Health), Quentin Pankhurst (IBME), Andreas Demosthenous (EEE) and Ingemar Cox (Computer Science).
  • Martin Birchall has been awarded TSB/MRC BIOMEDICAL CATALYST FUNDING for RegenVOX: phase I/II clinical trial of stem cell based tissue engineered laryngeal implants
  • Karin Shmueli has won a £124k EPSRC First Grant on “Optimising magnetic susceptibility mapping to enhance MRI of microbubbles”
  • Nick Tyler (Civil), Mark Miodownik (Mechnical Engineering), Quentin Pankhurst (IBME), Ivan Parkin (Chemistry) and Peter Smitham (Orthopaedics) have won a £994k EPSRC grant titled “Wearable Assistive Materials”
  • Clare Elwell, Jem Hebden, Adam Gibson, Ilias Tactsidis and Nick Everdell (Medical Physics), and Martin Smith (Neurology) have won a £993k EPSRC grant titled “Multimodal neuroimaging: novel engineering solutions for clinical applications and assistive technologies
  • David Hawkes (CMIC), Danny Alexander (CS) and Paul Taylor (Health Info) have been awarded a £812k EPSRC grant titled “Medical imaging markers of cancer initiation, progression and therapeutic response in the breast based on tissue microstructure”


Cookies on IBME website

Our website uses cookies to provide us with important information about visitors. By continuing to browse the site we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies set by IBME.